My first couple of days on Sint Maarten! - Reisverslag uit Sint Michiel Liber, Curaçao van Rosa Landsman - WaarBenJij.nu My first couple of days on Sint Maarten! - Reisverslag uit Sint Michiel Liber, Curaçao van Rosa Landsman - WaarBenJij.nu

My first couple of days on Sint Maarten!

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Rosa

01 Mei 2013 | Curaçao, Sint Michiel Liber

Time flies! This will be my first blogg report about my wiswex experience because I'm so busy with visiting small villages and the beach that right now is the first time I have time to write something.
I arrived at Sint Maarten on Saturday at 2pm local time. My flight was good. I had a seat right next to the window and I had a nice neighbour ;) At the airport, Tanja and the kids were already waiting for me and it was nice to see them. I have my own small room and the view from their veranda is beautiful! In the evening, they showed me Phililsburg and we had a short walk along the beach.
Sunday was my birthday! We had a nice birthdaybreakfast and later we went to the beach. Because it was my birthday, they took me out for dinner at a restaurant on the beach! It was beautiful!
Monday, they showed me the French part of the island. The French part looks like Southern France but the Dutch part doesn't have anything in common with the Netherlands. Most people speak English with each other. It was fun to see the difference between the Dutch and French side. After this, we went to the beach again and that night, we went to carnavalvillage to see the performance of Damian Marley! When we came home and when I was just about to go to sleep, a small earthquake (5.6) made my bed shake. No damage so I just tried to get back to sleep ;)
Yesterday was Queensday but the people here don't really celebrate it. I watched the abdication on uitzendinggemist.nl so I didn't have to miss everything. That afternoon, we went to Philipsburg to watch the Caribbean carnival parade dance through the streets. It was very colourful!
In the evening, Tanja and I went out to a bar that had organized a 'koninginnedag' party. They played lots of Dutch music and I really enjoyed the Dutch atmosphere there ;-)

I'm not sure yet what the programm for today will be but for now I will just relax and enjoy the beautiful view from the veranda.

Bye!

  • 04 Mei 2013 - 09:20

    Dad:

    Dear Rosa,

    I'm very happy for you that you're having such a good time. I never realised that France and the Netherlands were neigbour countries :-).
    Quite an experience, an earthquake, but I see that by now you are allready a relaxed Caribean girl, just turn around and go to sleep!

    I'm curious about you're first day of work at the aids foundation, I think I will read about this on a coming topic on your blog!

    Mum and Sara will be travelling for Tenerife this evening so i will be sadly on my own ;-) this week. I therefor hope to read many more of your stories.

    Love,
    Dad

Tags: Sint Maarten

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Rosa

Actief sinds 21 April 2013
Verslag gelezen: 433
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6451

Voorgaande reizen:

27 April 2013 - 19 Mei 2013

Wiswex!

Landen bezocht: