Hemelvaart weekend - Reisverslag uit Marigot, Dominica van Rosa Landsman - WaarBenJij.nu Hemelvaart weekend - Reisverslag uit Marigot, Dominica van Rosa Landsman - WaarBenJij.nu

Hemelvaart weekend

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Rosa

15 Mei 2013 | Dominica, Marigot

So, here is a new update from my Caribbean life ;)

Last Thursday, Friday and the Weekend, I was free from work. I already told about rainy Hemelvaartsdag, that Thursday when we had planned to go to Pinel but due to the bad weather we stayed at home. Well, last Sunday, we finally went to Pinel by kayak. It was the perfect day for this trip. It was sunny all day and the wind wasn't too strong! Pinel is a beautiful small island that is part of Sint Maarten. On Pinel, we went for a short walk, had a delicious lunch and the rest of the day we relaxed on the beach.

Last Friday, Isa, Julian and I went horse riding. It was amazing! We walked through the water and part of the tour was on the beach. Very special!

On Saturday, I went to yoga on the beach. It was again very nice and I hope we will go again this Saturday just before I go home... In the evening, we went to Grand Cas, a small 'city' and we had dinner on the beach :)

Yesterday, I had to get back to work again. I started at 12 o'clock because we went into the neighborhood called Cay Bay that evening. This was a very nice experience. Cay Bay is a very poor community so we went there to get people tested on HIV and tell them about the use of condoms etc. At first, the people were a bit afraid but eventually we tested many people. The AIDS Foundation will go to Cay Bay again in June but unfortunately I will already be back in Holland by then... I really enjoyed going into Cay Bay because I met other volunteers and had nice conversations which is of course very good to improve my English ;).

Today was also a day as intern. We had to go shopping for the organisation. It took us three hours to find everything we needed. It was exhausting!

Since Monday, we have a new volunteer for the AIDS Foundation, Steve. He is originally from Guadeloupe and he's also here to improve his English. I hope we can help each other ;)

Tomorrow I will work half a day and in the afternoon I'll probably go to Marigot with Tanja and the kids.

I'm really going to enjoy my last few days here because my plane leaves this Saturday afternoon. It's nice of course to go home again but I wouldn't mind staying here for another week ;)


  • 16 Mei 2013 - 21:41

    Mum:

    Lieve Rosa,
    Wat maak je veel leuke dingen mee! Enig om je over een paar dagen weer te zien! xx mum

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Rosa

Actief sinds 21 April 2013
Verslag gelezen: 2101
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6447

Voorgaande reizen:

27 April 2013 - 19 Mei 2013

Wiswex!

Landen bezocht: